Your essential guide to Dubai

With its chic yet relaxed style, Mandarin Oriental Jumeira, Dubai is the ideal location for exploring the sights and sounds of the glamorous emirate

$module/image

By Gareth Rees

Gareth is former editor of Emirates Airline's in-flight magazine, Open Skies, and food editor of the UAE's best-selling entertainment magazine, What's On, and contributes to CNN Travel, and Condé Nast Traveller Middle East

Find your bearings

In the charming beachside neighbourhood of Jumeirah – beloved of long-time Dubai residents – Mandarin Oriental Jumeira, Dubai sits near the city centre attractions of Downtown Dubai and Dubai International Financial Centre (DIFC), as well as Dubai Marina, but, as befits a luxury hotel, it also provides an escape from the crowds. When you’ve checked in and are ready to explore Jumeirah, take a left out of the hotel and enjoy a stroll down Jumeirah Beach Road, heading for the beachfront district of La Mer, where you’ll find food, shopping and family fun, such as Laguna Waterpark.

Feed your mind

Just a short drive from the hotel you’ll find the Etihad Museum. Located next to Union House, where the UAE constitution was signed in 1971, the distinctive building – with its curved white roof representing the parchment of the constitution and its golden columns representing the pens used to sign it – is the ideal place to brush up on your UAE history. Other essential cultural attractions include Alserkal Avenue, Dubai Opera and Al Fahidi Historical Neighbourhood, home to the Sheikh Mohammed Centre for Cultural Understanding and Al Fahidi Fort/Dubai Museum.

Shop like a local

Dubai is a world-renowned shopping destination, best-known for the luxury stores in Dubai Mall, one of the world’s largest malls, and Mall of the Emirates, home of Ski Dubai. Additionally, the city offers many traditional souks, such as the Gold Souk, the Perfume Souk and the Spice Souk in Deira, and the Textile Souk, a five-minute abra trip across Dubai Creek in Bur Dubai.

In recent years, the city’s consumer offering has diversified. If you’re looking for something a little bit different, Box Park caters to more urban tastes, Dubai Design District is a must-visit if you are a fashion lover looking to add a few choice garments from local designers to your wardrobe and, during the cooler months, The Ripe Market at Zabeel Park promises local produce, food vendors, artisans, designers, jewellers, entertainers and musicians. Jumeirah itself is home to some of the city’s finest independent shops, including boutique-café Comptoir 102 and Scandinavian furniture and homewares store D.tales.

See some sights

Dubai is home to some of the world’s most incredible architecture. Take in the awe-inspiring skyscrapers of Burj Khalifa and Cayan Tower, the elegant curves of the Burj Al Arab and the one of a kind Dubai Frame. If you are a real architecture connoisseur, seek out lesser-known gems such as the Index Tower and the mesmerising rotating shutters on the Apple Store at Dubai Mall designed by Foster + Partners and the quirky O-14 in Business Bay designed by Reiser+Umemoto.

Toast your arrival

Start your evening with a poolside cocktail at Sun Vibe at Mandarin Oriental Jumeira, Dubai while gazing at the setting sun and the calm, clear waters of the Arabian Gulf. Alternatively, head to Netsu, a Japanese Steakhouse showcasing the traditional cooking technique of Warayaki – straw fire cooking. The terrace is perfect for sipping cocktails or sampling the extensive wine list.

Make time to unwind

Make time to unwind

Spa & Wellness

Exploring a new city can be tiring, so make sure you treat yourself to a few hours of rest and recuperation, with a visit to The Spa at Mandarin Oriental Jumeira, Dubai.

With nine treatment rooms, including two couples’ suites, a Hammam-style suite and a VIP suite, it’s the ideal place to pause and revitalise your body and mind.

Dine in style 

In the last decade, Dubai has staked a robust claim to the title of food capital of the Middle East, with its culinary offering running the gamut from authentic street food to world-class fine dining. Opt for one of the in-house signature restaurants at Mandarin Oriental Jumeira, Dubai –  such as Tasca for Portuguese food poolside – or take a short trip to Folly by Nick & Scott in Souk Madinat Jumeirah, Hakkasan Dubai at Atlantis, The Palm or La Serre in Downtown Dubai for its Mediterranean-style menus and boulangerie.

Dubai’s cultural hotspots

Al Fahidi Historical Neighbourhood

The neighbourhood was built in the early 1900s by merchants from the Persian town of Bastak who made this are their home. Getty Images

Alserkal Avenue

Measuring to around 25,000 square feet, Alserkal Avenue is a creative warehouse. Alamy

Dubai Design District

The District aims to engage, inspire and enable emerging talent, and inform about the importance of design, as well as showcasing Middle Eastern creative talent.

Dubai Opera

The Dubai Opera plays host to all sort of visual arts, from opera to pop, musicals to ballet. Getty Images

Time travel

Did you know that Jumeirah is home to the Jumeirah Archaeological Site, the remains of a settlement dating back to the period of the Abbasid Caliphate between the ninth and the 11th centuries?

https://photos.mandarinoriental.com/is/image/MandarinOriental/dmo-Your-essential-guide-to-Dubai-10-And-finally

And finally

Kite Beach is just a short taxi ride away from Mandarin Oriental Jumeira, Dubai – popular with locals, it’s also home to Salt, a restaurant on the sand that evolved from a popular food truck.

Make a Reservation

畅游迪拜必备指南

风格时尚而悠闲的迪拜朱美拉文华东方酒店是探索富丽堂皇的酋长国、领略声色魅力的理想之地。

Gareth Rees

作者:Gareth Rees

Gareth 是阿联酋航空公司机上杂志《Open Skies》的前任编辑,也是阿联酋畅销娱乐杂志《What's On》的美食版块编辑,他还向《CNN Travel》和《悦游-中东版》(Condé Nast Traveller Middle East) 供稿

明确游览目的

迪拜朱美拉文华东方酒店 朱美拉迷人的海滨街区历来是迪拜当地居民流连忘返的度假天堂,而迪拜朱美拉文华东方酒店就坐落于此。酒店邻近迪拜市中心的各大风景名胜、迪拜国际金融中心 (DIFC) 以及迪拜滨海区,但作为豪华酒店,它还是一处远离喧嚣的静谧之所。当您办理完登记入住手续并准备好探索朱美拉的风情时,您可以走出酒店然后左转,悠闲地漫步于朱美拉海滩路,前往 La Mer 海滩区。您可以在这里尽情享用美食、欢乐购物,还可以与家人一同前往拉古纳水上乐园等地尽享无限乐趣。

充实心灵

阿提哈德博物馆从酒店出发,短途驾车可达阿提哈德博物馆。酒店毗邻历史遗迹 Union House,1971年阿联酋宪法正是在此地签署。这座独特的建筑物拥有弧形白色屋顶,代表着宪法的羊皮纸颜色;采用金色的石柱,代表着签署宪法所使用的钢笔。若要重温阿联酋的历史,这里便是您的理想去处。其他必要的文化景点包括 Alserkal Avenue 大街、迪拜歌剧院和阿法迪历史区,该街区是谢赫穆罕默德文化理解中心和阿法迪城堡/迪拜博物馆的所在地。

像当地人一样畅快购物

迪拜是全球著名的购物目的地,这里有全球最大的购物中心——迪拜购物中心,各大琳琅满目的奢侈品店云集于此;阿联酋购物中心也广为人知,室内滑雪胜地——迪拜滑雪场就坐落于此。此外,迪拜还有许多传统的露天市场,比如德伊勒的黄金市集、香水市集、香料市集,以及柏迪拜区的纺织品市集。搭乘传统木船只需五分钟即可横渡迪拜湾到达纺织品市集。

德伊勒香料市场近些年,迪拜的消费者呈现多样化发展。Box Park 集装箱公园适合偏都市类消费者的需求,缔造非凡体验;如果您是时装爱好者,想要选择几件当地设计师打造的精选服装,丰富自己的衣橱,使自己在气温较低的月份也能充满魅力,那么迪拜设计区是不容错过的地点;如果您是本地农产品商、食品供应商、工匠、设计师、珠宝商、艺人和音乐家,那么扎比尔公园的 The Ripe Market 市场绝对是您的理想选择。朱美拉拥有迪拜的许多优质独立商店,其中包括精品咖啡厅 Comptoir 102 以及斯堪的纳维亚家具和家居用品商店 D.tales。

参观迷人景点

哈利法塔和迪拜天际线迪拜拥有全球备受瞩目的建筑。感受一下哈利法塔和卡延塔令人惊叹的摩天大楼,欣赏迪拜帆船酒店的优雅曲线,以及独具特色的迪拜相框。如果您是建筑行家,不妨去探索那些鲜为人知的奇珍异宝,比如指标大厦、由 Foster + Partners 建筑事务所设计的迪拜购物中心苹果店的迷人旋转百叶窗,以及由 Reiser+Umemoto 建筑事务所设计的商业湾房产的奇特 O-14。

为您的到来举杯

Netsu 内部您可以在迪拜朱美拉文华东方酒店的 Sun Vibe 品尝一杯池畔鸡尾酒,开启活力四射的夜生活,同时欣赏落日美景和阿拉伯湾清澈平静的水面。或者,前往日式牛排屋 Netsu,这里向食客们呈现日本独特的居酒屋稻草火烹饪技术。露台适合畅饮鸡尾酒或品尝种类丰富的葡萄酒。

留出时间放松休闲

迪拜朱美拉文华东方酒店水疗中心的躺椅

留出时间放松休闲

水疗与健康

游览一座全新的城市令人疲惫,因此前往迪拜朱美拉文华东方酒店水疗中心犒劳自己,利用数小时时间放松身心,恢复活力。

这里有九间水疗室,包括两间双人套房、一间专属的土耳其浴室套房和一间 VIP 贵宾套房,是焕活身心、恢复活力的理想之所。

别具格调的用餐体验

Tasca 内部在过去十年,迪拜素有“中东食品之都”的美称,这里拥有正宗地道的街头美食、令人垂涎的精致餐饮,各式美味佳肴应有尽有。您可以选择前往迪拜朱美拉文华东方酒店的室内特色餐厅,比如主理葡式菜肴的 Tasca 池畔餐厅;或者前往不远处朱美拉古堡市集的 Folly by Nick & Scott、亚特兰蒂斯的 Hakkasan Dubai以及 The Palm,或前往迪拜市中心的 La Serre 品尝地中海风味菜肴及美味面包。

迪拜的热门文化景点

阿法迪历史区

阿法迪历史区

这片街区由来自巴斯塔克波斯小镇的商人建于 20 世纪初,这些商人在此安家立业。盖蒂图片社

Alserkal Avenue 展览空间

Alserkal Avenue 大街

创意仓库 Alserkal Avenue 面积约占 25,000 平方英尺。Alamy

夜晚的迪拜设计区

迪拜设计区

该地区吸引了新兴人才,为他们启发灵感,彰显设计的重要地位,并展示中东地区的创意才能。

夜晚的迪拜歌剧院外观

迪拜歌剧院

迪拜歌剧院汇聚各类视觉艺术表演,从歌剧到流行音乐、音乐剧到芭蕾。盖蒂图片社

朱美拉遗迹

开启一场梦幻的时光之旅

您是否知晓,朱美拉考古遗址就位于朱美拉,这个居住地遗址可追溯到九世纪和十一世纪之间的阿巴斯哈里发帝国。

Salt 外观

其他项目

从迪拜朱美拉文华东方酒店出发,仅需很短车程即可抵达迪拜风筝海滩,这里是备受当地人欢迎的地点,是从著名的食品车发展而来的沙滩餐厅 Salt 的所在地。

预订房间